The 18-strong longlist for the Branford Boase Award 2015 was announced today.

The award was launched fifteen years ago and is given annually to the author of an outstanding debut novel for children. Seven of the previous winners and shortlistees  have gone on to win the Carnegie Medal (including Patrick Ness whose Chaos Walking Trilogy is a favourite of mine) so it’s a great place to pick out future best-sellers and critically acclaimed authors. For more details and the longlist go here.

I’ve set myself the challenge of reading and reviewing all 18 books. Partly because I’m in between books but mostly because this is where I dream of being one day – on a longlist like this.

I’m starting with Bone Jack by Sarah Crowe, just because the title and blurb really appealed. I’ll report back soon.


2 thoughts on “BRANFORD BOASE AWARD 2015

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s