BONE JACK by SARA CROWE

This was the first of the longlisted books for the 2015 Branford Boase Award 2015 I chose to read. The selection of this one was based on the cover and the blurb and that served me well as I loved it.

Now obviously I’m not the target audience – it’s been many years since I could be called a young adult – but I do enjoy YA fiction if it’s in the right genre. This had it all for me, great characters, a compelling plot and a large dose of myth and legend. The setting of moor and mountain is wonderful and I loved the use of the Stag Chase, now an annual race for local boys but with echoes of an ancient and much more bloody tradition.

Next ones on the list are Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss or Mars Evacuees by Sophia McDougall. Back soon!

2 thoughts on “BONE JACK by SARA CROWE

Leave a Reply

